30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 17 – Favourite Supporting Male Character

This one is a little bit more challenging than the others. Mainly because I have a few that I’m thinking off and well, I don’t really know who to choose. But I guess I’m going to have to.

But first, let me get rid of one option. I’m doing this because if I don’t, Fairy Tail is going to be mentioned again and well, I’d like to touch on a other anime. But don’t get me wrong, I love Fairy Tail!

Alright, so first, my favourite supporting male character that is including Fairy Tail is obviously Gray.

gray

Not only is he cool (pun intended), but he’s one of the funniest characters I’ve seen and you can’t help but just love his cold (again, pun intended) attitude. Although, there are some times where I just want to punch him for being a jerk. You know, like all those times he neglected Juvia’s feelings or when he pretended to be evil.

fight

Or when the time he attacked Natsu just because he was– nevermind. I don’t want to spoil anything… But besides being an idiotic jerk at times– because all good characters have to have their flaws– he can be a pretty awesome character.

Anyways, now that I’ve explained Gray, now I can tell you who my favourite character outside of Fairy Tail is. So…

My Favourite Male Supporting Character is…

akashi

Akashi Seijuro from Kuroko no Basuke!

Inside Kuroko no Basuke, Akashi actually has two personalities. In the prequal of the series, we see his kinder side and his background is explained. Akashi actually comes from a very rich family, but every since he was young, he had always been pressured by his father to do well in everything. Because of this and other factors, Akashi succumbed to his “evil” side and became a very mean and haughty person. This mean and haughty person carries on into the main story line until the end of the series.

akashii

This split personalities of Akashi is actually what makes him my favourite. It shows a lot of his character in both personalities and how he has changed from time to time. Although he is feared by many, especially basketball players due to his “emperor eye”, all he has ever wanted was to just fit in and be stronger.

He’s the main “bad guy” of this series, but to be honest, I always had this soft spot for misunderstood people and “bad guys”. For example, Draco Malfoy from Harry Potter. Even though he was the “bad guy”, I had the longest crush on him.

darco

So what Kuroko no Basuke is, is a sport anime focusing on basketball. There are these five prodigies called the Generation of Miracles, GoM for short, Kise, Midorima, Murasakibara, Aomine, and Akashi. But there is a sixth GoM that everyone thinks is a myth named Kuroko, and Kuroko’s goal is to beat the GoMs at basketball. So this follows Kuroko’s mission as he does exactly that.

Akashi actually doesn’t come into the anime until later on, but when he does, it definitely adds a lot of drama into the show.

What do you guys think? Who is your favourite male supporting character? 

Leave a Reply

