30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 24 – Shocking Anime Moment

After some contemplation, I have decided on an anime moment that shocked me. I’m not sure if I have mentioned this anime yet or not; I don’t think I have. I’m currently watching this anime and haven’t gotten a chance to continue it, but I will definitely want to because it looks super good from what I have seen.

shock

I started watching this anime that I’m going to mention over the summer. I had just finished watching Snow White with the Red Hair and wanted an anime that was like it and stumbled across this one. However, this took a way different turn than Snow White with the Red Hair did, but that was completely okay. At first, I thought it was just going to be a traditional “let’s go on an adventure” type of thing, but it wasn’t and it was pretty awesome. Before I get any further, let me introduce…

My Most Shocking Anime Moment…

suwon

This scene if from Yona of the Dawn. It isn’t really a spoiler since they even tell you this happened in the synopsis. But I hadn’t read the synopsis before I watched this, so it was a pretty shocking scene for me.

The scene that shocked me most was when Su Won killed Yona’s father, aka the king. At first glance, I thought he was a pretty decent guy. He seemed to get along with Yona very well and look at him! He looks so harmless and cute, it’s no way he’s a bad guy!

However, that didn’t happen in the series. In fact, when the anime showed him killing Yona’s father or the king, I was shocked. Before the event had happened, Su Won had actually gave Yona a little trinket for her hair and Yona had been in love with him. But when Yona saw that he was killing her father, of course, her visioned changed for the worse.

suwoon

Yona of the Dawn is about a princess named Yona. She lives a life of luxury and is in love with Su Won, who is her cousin. However, one night, Su Won kills her father, the king, and she is forced to flee her home with Huk, her body guard and childhood friend. Yona then has to make a decision to save her kingdom or live as an escapee for the rest of her life.

I’ve only seen the first few episodes, but from what I have seen, I really like the series so far and will definitely be continuing. I just need to get on the task. Su Won to me had actually seemed like a very likeable character, but I think that him killing the king really added some deep character development to him. He isn’t just a cousin anymore, but an assassin, and that was something really interesting to me. His treachery and Yona’s character shapes this anime really well. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

What do you think? Have you seen Yona of the Dawn? What was the most shocking anime scene you have seen? 

Leave a Reply

