Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

About the Book

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 406
Related Words: assassin, prince, competition, mystery, tyranny, murder, guard
Rating: 2/5

In a world without magic, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the vicious king who rules from his throne of glass but to win her freedom. If she defeates twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she will be released from prison to serve as the King’s Champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien. 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a faraway land will befriend her. But something evil dwells in the castle– and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival– and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world. 

General Overview (Without Spoilers)

12689529._SX540_.jpg

After so long of watching people rage about this series and how good it was, I finally decided to pick the first book up a few weeks ago. I was so excited to read this book. As I started reading, I was intrigued. The character of Celaena (I love her name) was so different. In the first few pages, I loved her character because of her spunkiness and she was already someone to be feared. The other characters were beautifully written as well, and I loved the mystery and the suspense.

However, I had a few problems with the plot. At times, the plot just felt so slow and lacking. It felt more like a filler than the plot actually advancing. After the first few pages, the plot slowed down and I felt a little bit bored reading until about the middle of the book, where the action finally happened. The murders began to have more meaning, but there were still some parts that felt a little bit too filler-ish. I do plan on reading the rest of the series, but I felt a little bit disappointed after reading this book, especially when the characters started to change and become total different people.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

tog

Plot

Like I said before, when I read the plot, there were some parts where I felt there were too many fillers, and parts where I felt were just too slow. The beginning of the book was great. I loved how Sarah J. Maas introduced the Celaena’s character to be so cunning and I loved how with every moment, she was thinking about escaping and killing anyone in her way. It really added to her personality.

But when the characters reach the castle, everything slows down and the plot doesn’t really do much anymore. The competition begins, but I felt the plot was bland until Celaena meets the dead queen and finds out about a beast lurking in the castle. But even then, there were so many fillers, I felt that the plot was just being stalled so that nothing would happen too fast.

Characters

assassin3

Celaena Sardothien

Celaena starts off in the book as a person who wants to kill everyone. She ceaselessly planned her escape in the first few chapters. But then, a quarter of a book in, her personality kind of shifts. We find out that she has a passion for fashion, which I found weird considering that she was in a life or death situation for her whole life. She trusted the prince and the guard so easily, which I also found a little strange. I wished Celaena could have maintained an air of ambition and “lethalness” throughout the book, instead of all these new things popping up, since from what I know, she has a pretty dramatic past and I doubt that would have made her all trusting and cheerful.

prince3

Prince Dorian

His character was also something that I was iffy about. In the beginning of the book, I thought he was pretty stuck up and prideful, but to be honest, I liked him that way. It gave a different perspective to princes, who had always been portrayed as the good guys in almost every fantasy novel. But as soon as we get to the castle, his personality changes. We find him very sweet and humorous, and in the end, when he falls in love with Celeana, I felt it was very cringey.

I kind of wished that the prideful and haughty personality in the beginning of the book stayed with him until the end, because that would have made him a more interesting character. Conniving, deceiving, arrogant, was something that I have to admit I was looking forward to in his character. But instead, we got the stereotypical prince that was nice and heroic.

guard2.jpg

Chaol

Chaol’s character was probably the one that I liked the most. He maintained a consistent personality, yet we also see him develop as he gradually learns to trust Celaena. I didn’t feel like his character was too rushed, nor did it have any drastic changes. I felt the pacing for him, though not perfect, was just right. And truthfully, I ship him with Celaena over Dorian.

Conflicts

In my opinion, the conflicts of this story were really good. I think Sarah J. Maas really captured the eeriness of the atmosphere very well and the suspense of the story was amazingly written.

Rating

two.png

I give Throne of Glass two out of five stars. I liked the book– I really did, but it wasn’t as captivating as I had expected it to be. There were so many scenes where I was just bored because I didn’t get the point. An example is the puppy scene when Celaena is fighting with Dorian about killing the runt or not. It just felt so out of place, I couldn’t help but feel awkward. However, I still have high hopes for this series and am going to read the second book in a while.

What do you think? Have you read Throne of Glass? What did you think about the book? What are your opinions about the series? 

One thought on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

