A Series of Unfortunate Events: Episode 1 A Bad Beginning Part 1

A Series of Unfortunate Events is a 13 book children series by Lemony Snicket, aka Daniel Handler, that follows the Baudelaire children as they go through a series of unfortunate events after their parent’s death in a fire. And this book series was made into a TV show and is now on Netflix.

a-series

I have never read A Series of Unfortunate Events, despite the amazing things I’ve heard about it, so I’m excited to see this series as it releases on Netflix. I have now only watched the first episode, and I love all the quirky things about it.

The episode starts off with the narrator introducing the three Baudelaire children. Violet, the eldest, Klaus, the only boy, and Sunny, the infant. They are described as highly intelligent and seem to like gloomy things. In fact, the whole series seems very gloomy.

However, as gloomy as it was, it made me laugh out loud more than once. From the quirky speech to the bizarre circumstances it made the series so strange, but also effortlessly brilliant.

“I have some very bad news for you children. Your parents have perished in a terrible fire.”

“Perished means killed.”

“We know what perished means.”

The characters were also so very straight forward, which made it incredibly fun to watch. However, the way the children were treated was so pitiful and sad. And the character of the Count was both hilarious and awful. His humour was also simple, but didn’t fail to make me laugh.

“And in the meantime, I will be up in… Can you guess?”

“Your secret tower room?

“Wrong! My secret tower room.”

I will definitely be continuing this series and possibly even reading the books as well!

Have you started watching A Series of Unfortunate Events? What have you thought of it? 

2 thoughts on “A Series of Unfortunate Events: Episode 1 A Bad Beginning Part 1

  1. Karandi says:

    I’m two episodes in and I’m enjoying it but feel it’s a little too kiddy at times (I know it is based on a book aimed at younger readers). I do like how true to the books it has been and some of the dialogue comes straight out of the books so that’s been really enjoyable.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eileen X. says:

      I haven’t read the book series yet, but I’ve heard that they were following the book so closely, which is amazing! And something we rarely see anymore.
      And yeah, I can see what you meant by kiddy. But I’ve always loved seeing more childish shows, haha ^-^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

