30 Days of Harry Potter: Top 3 spells

Spells are an important part of the Harry Potter universe since the story does focus on witches and wizards. There are so many awesome spells that are shown throughout the Harry Potter series and so many spells for everything imagined. So here are my top 3 spells in Harry Potter.

1. Expecto Patronum

spells

Function: Creates a spirit animal of positive life force that defends against Dementors and Lethifolds.

This was a spell introduced in Prison of Akzaban and it’s my favourite spell of all time. Not only does it take the form of your spirit animal, but it also forces yourself to think of happy thoughts, which, to be honest, is not something that most do much often.

And if you did not know, Dementors were based off of JK Rowling’s own depression and her experience with it. And I love how she uses this idea of a Patronus to fend off the Dementors.

And, of course, according to Pottermore, my patronus is a Manx Cat. But in my opinion, I feel like I’m more of an otter, or an owl, or a deer. And another quiz I took told me my patronus was an Occamy, which I really don’t mind at all since they are so cute! It’s official, I have decided, my patronus is an Occamy!

o.jpg

2. Riddikulus

ridd.gif

Function: A defense spell against Boggarts, which are creatures that take the form of your greatest fear. It is to transform the boggart into something funny and to make it less scary.

Also introduced in Prisoner of Akzaban, Riddikulus is my second favourite spell. Not only is it taught by the BEST DADA professor ever, but I love the concept of the spell. It’s basically to combat your fears and change it into something humourous, which I find really meaningful.

3. Accio

accio

Function: A spell for summoning objects.

This is probably a favourite spell for most people. It was introduce in Goblet of Fire, if I’m not wrong, and Harry used it as he participated in the Triwizard Tournament.

I love this spell because goodness knows how much I need it. Sometimes, you just feel lazy and the thing you need is across the room. You just need to say this spell and that thing will come barrelling towards you. Or if you loose something– an event that happens way too often for me– you could literally just say the spell and the thing you lost would be back in your hand. This spell would save me so much time and energy!

And that’s it! What do you think? What are your top 3 spells from Harry Potter? 

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Harry Potter: Top 3 spells

Leave a Reply

