Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass (Book 2)
Pages: 418
Related Words: magic, tyrant, fae, kingdom, prince, guard, assassin
Rating: 2/5

com.jpgAn assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt, but her heart never wavers. 

Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become the King’s Champion. But she is far from loyal to the crown. Though she hides her secret vigilantly, her deadly charade becomes difficult when she realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. No one is above questioning her allegiance– not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart. 

Then, one terrible night, the secret they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be faced to decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is willing to fight for. 

General Overview (Without Spoilers)

The first half of the book was really slow and in some parts, I also felt that they were really boring. Nothing much happened and there wasn’t a lot of action. There were scenes where I didn’t get why they were there and scenes where I thought were completely irrelevant to the plot itself. I felt Maas could have cut done at least 30% of her book content and condensed it to make for a better plot and a faster one in that fact. I found myself forcing my way through the story with the only reason why I kept going was the fact that I knew the third book Heir of Fire is really good.

Only about halfway through the story did I feel the pace picking up, but it wasn’t until about the last 50 pages of the book where I found myself enjoying the story and relieved that things were finally happening. The ending was fantastic and the action at the end of the book was great. But I felt that things could have happened a lot quicker and things explained a lot better. The switching between the three point of views– Dorian, Chaol, and Celaena– was one I didn’t particularly like because it was just odd to me to see the perspectives off all three of them for one scene. I usually prefer just one point of view since it adds more mystery to the other book characters.

Other than that, it was a decent book. It isn’t one that I hated, but isn’t one that I really loved.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

com2

I had a lot of problems in this book that I felt really dragged down my reading experience. From Celaena’s character which kept changing through the book, to some parts of the book that didn’t make sense what so ever, it was a confusing book to follow and one that I wasn’t very engaged it.

1. Celaena

She was the main thing that annoyed me. I loved her character in the first book. She was tough, bad, and oozed amazing awesomeness. But in the beginning of this book, she completely ignores Dorian like he’s the plague, even though in the last book she said they could be friends.

She broke up with him because she had become the king’s assassin, and makes that as an excuse to not be with him anymore. But then 100 pages later, she’s all over Chaol like he’s the best thing ever and forgets about Dorian like he never existed. That really annoyed me because she was totally disregarding Dorian’s feelings in all of this.

I also didn’t understand why Celaena needed to be back at the palace every single night when she was send out on a mission by the king. She was to assassin Archer, but she came back every night and I felt that ruined the intensity of the situation.

Also, I felt that her character of a girly girl didn’t really align with her character as an assassin. It kept switching between both until I didn’t really know who she was anymore. One moment, she’s killing people like she’s death herself, then the next moment, she fawning over dresses.

2. The Plot

As I said in the non-spoiler section, the beginning of the book was so agonizingly slow. There wasn’t much that happened and I wasn’t a big fan of the pacing of the book. That changed when Nehemia died, which I was totally sad about because she was my favourite character. When Nehemia died, it really changed Celaena and suddenly all these mysteries about the Wyrdmarks were revealed and the book finally caught my interest.

It was especially great as we tried to figure out who Archer really was. As the book went on, we found out that Archer wasn’t just this handsome man, but also part of a secret organization. And who also was scheming against Nehemia and responsible for her death. That was the best part of the book and I loved it. From that point on, I was breezing past the pages and was so entranced.

3. Celaena’s True Identity

Okay, so we finally found out who Celaena really was in the last few pages of the book. Apparently, she is the true princess of the Terrasen, the only kingdom that can possibly rise up against the king and defeat him.

This was a shocker and I loved that twist. It also gave a huge air of mystery around Celaena as we finally noticed that maybe we don’t know who Celaena is and what she is. It suddenly felt like there was a black whole right in the place where her past was supposed to be and I loved that suspense. Finding out she was Fae as she fought the demon was amazing to read.

4. Point of Views

Again, as I said in the non-spoiler part, I wasn’t a big fan of the point of view switching between various characters in the book. It threw away any sort of suspense between the characters since you knew all of their emotions and thought. I felt like it would have been better if the story had just stuck to Celaena’s point of view, but I also understand how effective it had been with this switching of point of views thing.

Rating

two

I give Crown of Midnight a two out of five stars! I was disappointed in this book, but I know people have been saying how amazing Heir of Fire is, so I definitely will be carrying on with this series.

Thanks for reading!

What are your thoughts on Crown of Midnight? 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

