Anime Review: Blue Exorcist

Episodes: 25
Genre: Supernatural, Fantasy, Shounen
Related Words: demons, exorcist
Rating: 3.5/5

Ao no Exorcist follows Rin Okumura who appears to be an ordinary, somewhat troublesome teenager—that is until one day he is ambushed by demons. His world turns upside down when he discovers that he is in fact the very son of Satan and that his demon father wishes for him to return so they can conquer Assiah together. Not wanting to join the king of Gehenna, Rin decides to begin training to become an exorcist so that he can fight to defend Assiah alongside his brother Yukio.

– Taken from MAL

6385

Overall Review (Without Spoilers)

I came into this anime thinking it would be gory and dark because seriously with every image you search about Blue Exorcist, the main character looks evil and they were dealing with demons and all that stuff. However, within the first episode, I found that it was the complete opposite. The atmosphere of the anime is completely fun and light hearted, and though there may be some dark stuff involved, the plot and characters are so cheerful and hilarious.

The pickup of the anime is pretty quick, with the main character knowing who he is at the end of the first episode. There are some episodes that are more relaxed, but they are fun to watch nonetheless and I would definitely recommend this anime if you want comedy action anime to watch.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

blue.jpg

The series starts out with the reveal that Rin is very troublesome, he gets into fights a lot, and skips school on a regular basis to the point that he eventually quit. He can’t hold a job down for long, but on the other hand, his younger brother Yukio, is genuis smart and going off to this prestigious school in the next few days.

In the first two episodes, there was a lot of confusion to what was happening with Rin and the like. I was really curious why Rin could suddenly see the demons when the last moment before he couldn’t. And I wish they could have expanded on that. It was also curious to see why the demons were coming after him now as opposed to years before. I think they had been coming for Rin, but it wasn’t as dramatic. I would still like to know why though it suddenly exploded into something big.

rin.jpg

The relationship between Rin and Yukio was great as well. I loved seeing the two interact, even though they had gotten off the wrong foot when Rin first came to the academy. Their clashing personalities were great at getting laughs, especially Rin who acted like a goofball for most of the time. He was definitely my favourite part in the whole anime.

I also liked seeing the interactions between Rin and his classmates while he was at the academy. It was really nice seeing him form the bonds. However, when Rin’s demon form was revealed and he eventually got captured, I felt that his friends reacted to saving him too soon. I mean, we’re talking about the son of Satan here and many of them have a grudge over Satan, but most of them barely even hesitated to helping Rin, which I found really weird especially with Suguro.

I also felt the whole thing with the Yuri and Satan relationship was a little weird, and it didn’t make sense to me. Another thing that didn’t make sense was the boy with the bunny.

bunny.png

Nemu Takara didn’t do anything throughout the whole series. He usually just stayed in the background, and I didn’t know why he was there. I know the Blue Exorcist mange goes on after the anime series end, so perhaps he might have a bigger role. But in the present, I didn’t understand why he was there. The last episode as well felt very open and a lot of questions were left unanswered.

Rating

3-5-stars

3.5/5 stars! I enjoyed watching this anime and I thought the concept of the plot was good. The characters were great to watch and the animation was amazing; however, I felt that there were a lot of plot holes and a lot of things that didn’t make sense or didn’t really fit together.

What are your thoughts on Blue Exorcist? 

 

6 thoughts on “Anime Review: Blue Exorcist

      • sophiethestark says:

        I don’t have that many but I really enjoyed FMA/Brotherhood, Darker Than Black, Death Note, Attack on Titan… Also, I know they don’t have the biggest reputation but I used to love Naruto and Bleach too. I haven’t watched them in a while but they’re still pretty cool.
        There are certainly a lot of great lists online, if you want to check them out, though. I’m not a shounen expert at all hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Eileen X. says:

        I’ve started watching Death Note and it’s so dark and deep, haha.

        I’m almost done Naruto as well, about 150 (?) more episodes. I’m kinda sad about it since I’ve grown attached to the characters already 😥

        I’ve heard tons of stuff about Attack on Titan and FMA/Brotherhood, so I’ll probably go check them out soon! Thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

