Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses Book #1
Pages: 416
Related Words: Beauty and the Beast, retelling, fae, magic, curse
Rating: 3.5/5

th.jpg


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal but Tamlin– one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. 

As Feyre dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin– and his world– forever. 

General Review (Without Spoilers)

If you have read my reviews on the other two Sarah J. Maas books Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight, both from the Throne of Glass series, you would have known that I didn’t like those books very much. As a consequence, my view of Sarah J. Maas was already tainted and I wasn’t expecting very much from ACOTAR.

The only reason why I decided to pick it up was because friends from my Bookstagram account suggested it and said that it was a good series to read, especially ACOTAR’s sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury. 

When I did read it, however, I have to admit, I felt that ACOTAR was better that Throne of Glass and I was really happy with the way the book was going. There were parts where I felt were a little bit slow and parts where I felt didn’t really need to be in the book as much, but overall, I felt it was a good read, especially the last 150 pages or so.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

aco

The book starts out with Feyre killing a fae disguised as a wolf, which we later know is Andras. Tamlin, one of Andras’ friend, comes to take her as a compensation for killing a faery. The other option would have been to kill her, but Tamlin had offered her a loop hole, and therefore, Feyre accompanies him to his estate. This was where I had my first problem.

The beginning when Tamlin comes and Feyre goes from her home was rushed it felt extremely awkward. I understand Tamlin couldn’t say anything about the curse, but his explanation of taking her to live in Pyrthian as a compensation to Andras’ death, was an awful excuse. It would have made more sense to just kill Feyre, or at least kidnap her without anyone knowing it. I felt it was a poor start, but was curious to see what would happen next. 

m.jpg

When Feyre arrives at the estate, we meet Lucien, whom I loved all throughout this book. His character was well developed and his personality was the best. But as Feyre spends her time in the castle, little to nothing happens while she is there. She takes some time to grieve over her family, learns more about Prythian, and regains her painting hobby– all things which are great and I felt added to her character. But it was a huge disadvantage since the last part of the book had way too many things going on as opposed to the beginning of the book. So much, that it was overwhelming.

Towards the end of the book, Feyre comes back from her brief exit out of Prythian and comes face to face with Amarntha, the villain of this book. She makes Feyre go through a series of difficult tasks, while in the meanwhile had captured Tamlin and all her friends. I loved this part of the book as it showed the amazing character of Feyre. I just thought that it ended a little too quickly and the span of three or four months was way too short. I felt that if Maas had somehow tried to incorporate the first part of the book where Feyre was at the estate and the Feyre’s trial with Amarntha, it would have been more interesting. But that’s just my own opinion.

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for:

Let’s talk about Rhysand

First impression (First meeting): He is a huge… JERK!
Second impression (With Amarntha): Still a JERK!
Third impression (Feyre making a bargin with Rhysand): JERK!
Fourth impression (Feyre cleaning his rooms):
Fifth impression (the party or “entertainment”): JERK ALERT!
Sixth impression (helping Feyre in the second tastk):
Seventh impression (comforting Feyre after second task): … less of a jerk… he’s starting to get on my good side…
Eighth impression (After finding Feyre and Tamlin): he’s helping her? *shocked and heartfelt*
Final impression: I guess he isn’t bad after all…

From what you can see, I totally thought Rhysand was a complete jerk. But, as I kept on reading, his sass and his cuteness totally got through to me. His character was really well developed and his personality is the best thing ever. And I have to admit, his sass paired with his grins, reminded me of the Chesire cat from Alice in Wonderland. I mean, he does disappear and he’s been called feline more than once.

No, actually, to be more accurate, he reminds me of Ikuto from Shugo Chara:

ikuto.jpg

My imagination can get the best of me and I will probably never think of Rhysand other than a sly cat with wings. So you can probably call him a darker version of Happy.

evil

This picture is perfection. It has the grin and everything as well! LOL, I’m joking (maybe). But he has grown on me since the first jerkish lines he said in the book. And I can’t wait to see how he further develops in ACOMAF.

Rating

3-5-stars

3.5/5 stars! There were many parts where I felt it could have been better, but overall, I really liked the story. The idea of Prythian is really interesting and I can’t wait to read what Sarah J. Maas has to show in her next book.

Have you read ACOTAR? What are your thoughts on it? 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

