Naruto Shippuden: Tale of Jiraiya the Gallant (Episodes 129-133)

This arc focused on Jiraiya, Naruto’s teacher who taught him for the past three years. He goes on a secret mission to find out more about Pain, a member of the Akatsuki organization, in the Hidden Village of Rain. Along the way, Jiraiya encounters some old friends.

jir

This was literally the saddest arc ever and I hated knowing that this was the last arc that Jiraiya would be in. The arc starts out with Jiraiya infiltrating the Hidden Village of Rain and eventually meeting up with Pain. One thing leads to another and he finds himself fighting with Pain himself, who turns out to be connected to one of the the students he taught in the past.

Things I liked:

Jiraiya vs. Pain

ad.jpg

This arc was literally all about Jiraiya’s battle with Pain and I enjoyed watching Jiraiya in action, as we haven’t really seen him fight since we met him in the series. Both Jiraiya and Pain reveal a new power as they fight, with Pain having the Rinnegan and Jiraiya having Sage Mode. These two new weapons allowed for a greater understanding of the Ninja world and I loved that.

Jiraiya’s Death

ji.jpg

Of course, I didn’t particularly like Jiraiya dying, as he was one of my favourite characters. But I loved the way he died. As he is impaled by Pain’s weapons, he slowly looses consciousness and is to die. But at the thought of Naruto, he leaves one final dying message, that would help Naruto and the others fight against pain. I felt the way he died was very noble and I was glad that he was able to send information to the others before he was never to be found again.

Things I Didn’t Like as Much:

s.jpg

Not much, but I did feel that Jiraiya could have retreated and prevented his death instead of risking his life and dying. If he had retreated, he could have come up with a better plan and defeated Pain without dying. I know he wanted to do this in one shot, but it ended up costing his life, which I was really sad about.

Rating: four-out-of-five-stars1

Have you watched this arc? What did you think of it? 

Leave a Reply

