Manga Review: Hirunaka no Ryuusei

Author: Yamamori Mika
Genre: Shoujou
Chapters: Around 78
Rating: 3.5/5

I read this manga due to a recommendation online. Since I have a fondness particularly for Shoujou since I find Shounen manga harder to read, I immediately tried it out. This manga is about a girl named Suzume who moves to a new school, and before she knows it, she is trapped in one of those cliché love triangles.

Hirunaka-no-Ryuusei-18119.jpg

Overall Review (No Spoilers)

This manga was a really fun read and I loved all the characters in the manga. Suzume is a very tomboy-ish girl and she meets Shishio as she moves into Tokyo from her home. When school starts, she finds out that Shishio is actually her teacher and meets another guy named Mamura, with whom she becomes friends with.

I’m not a huge fan of love triangles for obvious reasons: they’re cliché and unrealistic. But this manga did a really good job of not making me annoyed. This was particularly because of the characters and their well developed personality. They each had something inside and I loved how they both interacted with Suzume. Though there were definitely some parts that were a little cheesy and awkward, I genuinely did enjoy Hirunaka no Ryuusei.

I would recommend this manga to anyone who wants a good Shoujou to read. It isn’t as long as other Shoujou manga and the storyline is really simple and straight forward.

Rating

3-5-stars

Have you read Hirunaka no Ryuusei? What are your thoughts about it? 

6 thoughts on “Manga Review: Hirunaka no Ryuusei

    • Eileen X. says:

      Depends on what you like 🙂
      But as for me, I tend to stick to the Shoujou area. I feel they’re easier to read than Shounen manga since they have less action. A few of my favourites are Ao Haru Ride, Last Game, and Love So Life. They are all totally cute! Love So Life is longer than the other two, though, just a warning if you don’t want to start out with something too long. 🙂 Ao Haru Ride is also an anime, if you’re interested in watching it. But it only covers the first half of the manga and not the second half, so if you want the full story, you’ll want to read the manga.

      If you like more action packed manga, then the popular ones like Naruto, One Piece, and Death Note are probably the way to go. I’m not quite sure though since I don’t read much Shounen, haha

      That’s about it I think. Hope that wasn’t too long! There are a bunch of great manga out there, so I’m sure if you checked MyAnimeList.net or just on Google, you’ll come across great ones! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

