Anime Review: Death Note

Episodes: 37
Genre: Mystery, Supernatural, Psychological, Shounen
Related Words: life, death, good, evil, light, dark
Rating: 4/5

A Shinigami, a god of death, can kill anyone if they know their victim’s face and write down their name in a notebook called the Death Note. Ryuk, a bored Shinigami drops his Death Note into the human world and his picked up by Light Yagami, a high school prodigy. As he tests the Death Note, he realizes his goal of exterminating all the criminals in the world and to achieve the status as a god. The police, however, search to try and stop this new death threat and L is appointed to the case. 

death-note

Overall Review (No Spoilers)

After watching Death Note for the past week, it could no doubt become one of my favourite anime I’ve watched so far. The beginning of the anime was fantastic and it grabbed my attention immediately, but what was more was the intensity of the plot. The plot was well written and well developed, and I absolutely loved seeing the battle between L and Light unfold as we go through each episode.

I have to say, however, the second part of the show is a little bit less intense and I felt less as good since something happens that affects the structure of the plot. The first part of Death Note, however, was amazing and I loved seeing how the characters think and their actions involving the murders that were happening.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

pic_1458326230_1.jpg

Through this anime, we see two perspectives– one through the eyes of evil and the other through the eyes of good. The main villain is Light and he is the main character of the series. He controls the Death Note, wanting to achieve a world with no villains or crime, and ultimately strives to be a god of the world, controlling justice.

Light’s intentions as he obtains the Death Note are good, and that really made you sympathise with him and even take his side sometimes as you knew that all he ever wanted to do was rid the evil of the world. However, he did this through an unrighteous way and, in my opinion, didn’t really consider the thought of redemption for a person who might be wanting to change.

But this character that Light had just made a great villain of this series and along with his genius brains, made him a formidable opponent. Through the series, I kept guessing at what he would do and how he would escape L’s crutches, and he had always managed to slip away. His thoughts messed up my thoughts, making me think harder than I should have, which was great.

l and yama.jpg

And the battle of wits between L and Light was the best thing about the series. They played this game of cat and mouse that resulted in them just running in circles. There were times where I just wanted to pull my hair out because it was getting too intense and there were times where I actually had to stop watching just to process what was going on.

L’s character, especially, was a great addition and I loved his quirks and his personality as he moved forward with the Kira case. It was so disappointing as no one believed L that he believed Light as Kira because he was right all along.

The thing I really liked about this anime as well was that it focused on the both perspectives of L and Light, and not just one of them. That made us be more involved in the case as we knew who the real killer was. If it had only been Light or L’s perspective, I felt like it wouldn’t have been as fun.

l.jpg

Before L’s death, the anime was really good. However, after he died, I felt that the quality of the anime dwindled a bit and it wasn’t as good as before. Near was great, but I felt he was just another copy of L and I also felt that he solved the case way to conveniently. Light also began to make a whole lot of mistakes that he wouldn’t have made before, which served as the main cause of his defeat. 

And since L had been the first to almost solve the entire case, along with battle with Light for so long, I had wanted L to be the one to catch Light and reveal that he was Kira. I felt like he deserved that much and though it is true Near carries on L’s will, and technically L “won”, it will wasn’t the same. And that made ending not very satisfying. 

k.jpg

It was still a very good anime and I really enjoyed it. I loved seeing Light’s slow descent into insanity because towards the end and even some parts of the beginning, you could see the Death Note’s power was starting to get to his mind. It was really pitiful seeing his escape and death in the last episode as you really felt bad for him. Though he had been evil, he really did have good intentions, just the wrong way of thinking.

Rating

four-out-of-five-stars1

What did you think of Death Note? What were your favourite scenes? 

21 thoughts on “Anime Review: Death Note

  1. Karandi says:

    Death Note is just such a great watch. Part of me always wonders if Light actually goes crazy or if he was always crazy and the note just gave him a way to express it. He very quickly adapts to using it and his early impulsive actions against L definitly indicate the god complex is well and truly strong even early in the series. Still, I love watching this and even though the events after L’s death aren’t as good, that final ending with Light is exactly what the series needed.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Eileen X. says:

      True! That’s a good thought. I’ve also wondered that and contemplated different theories to answer that question, but it’s such a complex situation. Death Note certainly keeps you running in circles, haha. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. booklyreads says:

    Yes! The dual-perspective makes it so interesting, because it’s no longer relying on the tension spurred by finding out who the killer is – which can be kind of cheap – but instead it trusts that the characters are so intriguing you’ll keep watching/reading just for their development. I was obsessed with Death Note when I was younger!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Rocco B says:

    I’m one of the few that haven’t actually seen death note, but have heard a lot of about it. So can’t really say on what I think on the show. However I do think the post is pretty good. Especially the star rating – I really like how you did it!. Keep up the posts!!!.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eileen X. says:

      I felt that Light had a major personality change and was too careless. But it is true, perhaps by then he was already just too corrupted with power that he already disregarded everything else. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Adam says:

    I particularly enjoyed the earlier episodes, where Light carefully manipulates circumstances to avoid suspicion. Those early episodes where he had to thoroughly play the innocent were a wonderful back and forth between the two versions of himself.
    In some ways I feel that once L singled out Light as his primary suspect, the story become a little overly narrow, and while resolving L allowed the story to evolve, in some ways it gave Light too much power. The mechanizations of the different characters was definitely entertaining, but in some ways I think the series hurried to bring Light and L into a more direct conflict, when leaving them as faceless opponents (at least to each other) left room for more possibilities.
    Still, definitely a strong dramatic narrative, with lots of strong tension.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eileen X. says:

      I see where you’re coming from in how the plot was very narrowed as Light and L faced each other. I have to agree on that point and on the fact that they should have remained anonymous to each other. It could have made a more dramatic impact in the cat and mouse chase.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        Yeah. I think eventually the two would have needed to confront each other more directly, but I think doing so at such an early point required them to get pretty creative with the ongoing conflict, and some of that fell a bit flat for me, particularly the arc involving the corporations, since it went right back to “who is Kira” again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        There were a few times where the combination of the rules was engaging, and I thought the chains of logic that eventually led to the final resolution was pretty neat, but yeah, in many ways the first dozen or so episodes saw the “protagonist?” facing the most challenges.
        And the dramatic writing…sometimes I couldn’t help but laugh at how epic those scenes were.
        Solid music too. One of the main themes had a strong Exorcist influence to it, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

