Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 624
Related Words: magic, fae, courts, bond
Rating: 5/5

acomaf-cover1

Feyre survived Amarntha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court– but at a steep cost. Thought she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamiln’s people. 

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Nigh Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms– and she might be the key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future– and the future of a world torn apart. 

 

General Overview (Without Spoilers)

I have to say, A Court of Mist and Fury was way better than A Court of Thorns and Roses. If you have read my review on A Court of Thorns and Roses, I felt that there had been a lot of problems with the plot and I felt that Maas could have written it in a better way, instead of cramming it all together in the end. But A Court of Mist and Fury was perfection and I loved every single moment of it.

The books starts off right where the last book ended. A lot of things happen, and I felt that this book was so satisfying and so well paced, that I felt I wanted to reread it right when I finished it. Feyre had amazing character development in this book and the pace was perfection.

There isn’t much I can say without spoiling anything, but what I can say is: GO READ ACOMAF. NOW. Thank you.

Full Review (*With Spoilers*)

ac

I really want to talk about the ending of this book first (because OH MY GOSH), but I’ll start off with the beginning, because that was just as shocking.

The book starts off with Feyre still living in the Spring Court, but we find out that she is suffering through some Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder from her time Under the Mountain. She had killed two fairies consciously and became fae herself. We see her sink into depression, which I felt was great characterisation on Maas’ part. 

But then, Tamlin freaking traps her inside her house and I just can’t deal. AGAIN, HE FREAKING LOCKS HER INSIDE THE HOUSE! And, I’m like HOW DARE HE? I understand that Tamlin wants to protect her, but she’s not some fragile china doll that needs to be trapped inside a cabinet, like SERIOUSLY! She passed Amarantha’s three tests, defeated Amarantha, and got through so much, and HE THINKS SHE IS USELESS? Tamlin might be doing this out of his own good intentions, but I felt he needs to step back and look at this situation at a different perspective.

flat,1000x1000,075,f.u5.jpg

But then, Rhysand shows up and I’m so happy because he seems to actually understand what she’s going through and I’m soooo happy. His first appearance is him crashing Feyre and Tamlin’s wedding, and I’m like YEAH!

“Hello, Feyre darling,” he purred.

– A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J. Maas

Then Rhysand proceeds to show us his narcissistic charm and I feel so happy.

“Rhysand is the most handsome High Lord.
Rhysand is the most delightful High Lord.
Rhysand is the most cunning High Lord.”

– A Court of Mist and Fury

He seems like he is the only one who knows that Feyre needs and I loved seeing more of him in ACOMAF, especially since his character just blossoms in this book. He is so dark and mysterious, but that is all a part of his charm. And all throughout the book, I just want Feyre and Rhysand to get together already and then, we find out that they are MATES. And I couldn’t be happier.

maxresdefault.jpg

Rhysand’s story, though, in Chapter 54 was the sweetest, most saddest thing ever. This was when he confessed all that he had done in the last 50 or so years to protect the Court of Dream. He suffered through so much, loves Feyre so much, and my heart was throbbing when I read his part. It was perfect.

And can I just talk about the Court of Dreams for a second because it is just beautiful. It’s so blissful and peaceful and I love how dreamy it sounds. Rhysand’s inner circle is the best thing ever as well, and I absolutely love Amren and Cassian and everyone else. All their unique characters were so well written and I truly genuinely loved it. 

So many things happened in this book, it would take ages to discuss, so let’s get on with the juicy part– the ending. THE ENDING CRUSHED MY HEART, THEN PIECED IT BACK TO TOGETHER, THEN CRUSHED IT AGAIN. <– that was how I felt.

The moment began when TAMLIN FREAKING REVEALS HE WAS FREAKING WORKING WITH THE FREAKING KING OF FREAKING HYBERN! And I was just shocked and numb and angry at that point. Then HE FREAKING HAS THE NERVE TO ASK FEYRE TO COME BACK WITH HIM. Like YEAH, IN… NEVER! I don’t know whether to be impressed by Maas’ amazing characterisation, or mad because Tamlin is such a pitiful character! She definitely did a great job. 

But the combination that Rhysand and Feyre pull off lifted my mood.

“Tamlin lunged for me over the few feet that remained. So fast– too fast–

I became mist and shadow.

I winnowed beyong his reach. The king let out a low laugh as Tamlin stumbled.

And went sprawling as Rhysand’s fist connected with his face.

Panting, I retrested right into Rhysand’s arms as one looped around my waist, as Azriel’s blood soaked into my back.”

– A Court of Mist and Fury

Perfection.

And then when Tamlin found out they were mates, I’m just smirking.

brothers_by_merwild-daji1o7.jpg

But then Tamlin asks the King of Hybern to FREAKING CUT RHYSAND AND FEYRE’S MATING BOND AND I LOST IT. By that time, I was just hysterical and out of control. HOW. DARE. HE. My anger towards Tamlin just grows as the second passes.

Then he actual cuts the bond.

And.

I’m so sad.

Feyre pretended to be snapped out of Rhysand’s “spell”, and begged Tamlin to return her to the Spring Court. The only consolation I had was that she was faking it and that she was only buying Rhysand and the others a chance to escape.

But the mating bond was broken and I couldn’t deal.

But then! SOMETHING AMAZING HAPPENED! It turned out that Rhysand and Feyre had created another another bond and that their bond still exists. And that Feyre is High Lady of the Night Court. Annnd… she’s now a spy in the Spring Court. I was grinning from ear to ear at this.

Okay, now, I can take a big breath of relief. As you can see, I have a lot of feelings about this book. It was so good.

Rating

five

Of course I’d give it a 5/5 stars! After all it put me through, I don’t think it deserved anything less. Now, I have to wait a painful two months until the final book ACOWAR comes out. AND I’M SO EXCITED.

Have your read ACOMAF? What are your thoughts about the book? 

Credits to the owners of the fan art. They’re beautiful!

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. brisbooksite says:

    I LOVED this book! It was so good! I loved Tamlin in the first book but everything he was brought up in the second one I always thought “ewe please no”. I can’t wait for A Court of Wings and Ruin in May.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

