Anime Review: Boruto Episode 1

The life of the shinobi is beginning to change. Boruto Uzumaki, son of Seventh Hokage Naruto Uzumaki, has enrolled in the Ninja Academy to learn the ways of the ninja. Now, as a series of mysterious events unfolds, Boruto’s story is about to begin!

– My Anime List

maxresdefault (3).jpg

The first episode of Boruto came out a few days ago, and even though I haven’t finished Naruto yet (I’m ashamed), I kinda already know what’s going to happen, so I decided to jump into Boruto.

So the first episode starts off with an older Boruto fighting with an enemy in a destroyed Hidden Village of the Leaves. Naruto is nowhere to be found, but it’s hinted that he has gone “somewhere”. And then these strange markings appear on their skin. I’m interested in finding out what these markings are, and how it comes into play with this new modern age.

Then the episode jumps back into the past, before Boruto goes to the Academy. And we find out that he is just as mischievous as Naruto was. His eye also turns black and blue, and I’m not sure if that’s his Byakugan that he got from Hinata, but I’m wondering what it is.

The village is also very modern and ninjutsu doesn’t seem to be as popular or necessary, and I don’t really know how I feel about that. It’s a very different generation, but I hope at least some original Naruto aspects still stay in the series as it goes on.

What did you think of Boruto’s episode 1?

 

Leave a Reply

