Movie Review: Doctor Strange

Genre: Fantasy, Supernatural
Duration: 1h 55m
Actors/Actresses: Benedict Cumberbatch, Tilda Swinton,ย Chiwetel Ejiofor
Related Words: magic, powers, doctor, disabilities

Dr. Stephen Strange’s life changes after a car accident robs him of the use of his hands. When traditional medicine fails him, he looks for healing, and hope, in a mysterious enclave. He quickly learns that the enclave is at the front line of a battle against unseen dark forces bent on destroying reality. Before long, Strange is forced to choose between his life of fortune and status or leave it all behind to defend the world as the most powerful sorcerer in existence.

DDgP02bXcAAxYBo.jpg

General Overview (Without Spoilers)

Doctor Strange came out in November 2016, but I didn’t get a chance to see it until today. I had wanted to see the movie and was very interested in it because of the magic it seemed to have and it looked really cool in terms of the plot and characters.

When the movie started, I was really impressed. It caught my attention as soon as it started and I liked how it had a very unique and different plot. Benedict Cumberbatch playing the main character suited the movie very well.

The special effects was fascinating since there were a lot of “magic” going on and I liked how the main character developed throughout the movie from being very arrogant to finding the error of his ways.

The only thing that I had a problem with was the fast paced ending and it didn’t really have the satisfying closure that I wanted. The ending was very quick and it was very underwhelming as well in terms of what had happened from the beginning. I was looking for something a little more to it, but that didn’t really happen.

Other than that, however, I really liked how the story went and the overall feeling of the story. It could have been developed more and some scenes were a little rushed, but it was a good movie.

Rating

four-out-of-five-stars1

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Doctor Strange

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    I enjoyed the movie but it actually made me dizzy hahaha I had to look away at certain parts, which caused me to miss a lot of stuff.
    Otherwise it was pretty cool! Loved the overall aesthetics and story, although Strange kind of annoyed me. I guess that was part of his charm hahaha
    Great review, Eileen! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TPAB~ says:

    Not being a comic book fan, I was extremely impressed with this movie. Cumberbatch played a compelling character, the effects were great and the story is really complex. A lot happens in the movie, but it never gets boring.
    Yeah, the ending is a bit off but I think they just wanted Strange officially part of the MCU now, and I think it worked. He’ll appear in Thor Ragnarok, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eileen X. says:

      I definitely agree, Cumberbatch was an amazing Doctor Strange. The ending was definitely at bit iffy since it was too rushed. And I’m not sure if he does or not. I’ll have to look that one up.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

